Writing Process


Or…Now I get to start over.

Most of my stories are short stories, because if I take long enough the story evolves in my head and I have to go back and rewrite the whole damn thing to make it fit my picture of what I want it to be.

I have been writing on Dreaming of White Marble Tombstones for a year November 1st.  This is a long time.  Not nearly as long as my first novel that I wrote in High School (no I won’t be posting that, it’s bad…really bad.)  And I have been discussing the direction of the story with my lovely Editor.  Also discussing scene change and character focus.

So…and here is where the ephemeral bit comes in.  Starting November 1st, I will be rebooting the story, Starting a fresh, and at the beginning.  The main character of the story is Na’amah and I think that gets lost in translation.  We really did start in the middle of her story, and how she fell is a big part of who she is.  What happened shortly after her fall, the events leading up to the dimensional jump into the Steampunk London, it’s all a part of her, and a part that shouldn’t be ignored.

So I’m trying again.  More than likely I will be keeping the chapters I’ve already written, but making the focus more on the Demoness, and less on Charles and Edda, who really are just side characters in the whole of the book.

So strap in and hold on, the journey of a novel isn’t always pretty, but it’s certainly fun!

Leave a Reply

