Face Lifts and Updates


I tend to compartmentalize my life.  For a very long time I assumed that was the only way to survive.  This is shown most clearly in my websites.  I’ve got The Ephemeral Prosaist, a blog for my writings, The Jeweled Heron, a shop to showcase my Jewelry, The Prophet’s Web, a website for my ongoing comic and just yesterday I was contemplating another blog for my LARP related writings.  My brain then took to wild imaginings of what else I would enjoy writing about and what blogs I might need for those.

I really don’t have time to devote to 4+ blogs.  I really don’t.

So why do I feel the need to compartmentalize so much?  Fear that folks might see the entirety of my being?  That folks who buy my jewelry might be shocked to find out I create a comic?  That I run a LARP?  Honestly?

Having a centralized location to showcase my work will in turn, let everyone see more of me than just the writings I have done or the Jewelry I have created.  It will allow me to update the blog more than once a quarter because I can post about what inspires me at the time and not have to worry about writing for ALL the topics because what inevitably happens is I’ll get passionate about one topic, and simply blank on another.  By condensing my blogs into one that showcases all that I do, you will get to know me a little better and, I hope, I will get to know you a little better too.

I have many passions and hobbies I want to share with people and I think that this webpage will be a great place to do this.

So, it’s time for some spring cleaning!

The webpage got a face lift, a new theme, some new artwork and a reorganization of the navigation bar.  The About the Author page has been rewritten to reflect the change of direction I am taking with this page.

I will be shutting down my jewelry website.  There is a number of reasons for this I won’t get into here but I have made the decision to simply showcase my work and focus on teaching the joys of beading instead.  I love sharing my passion.  Watching folks get as excited about beads, and more generally, the act of creation, is an absolute delight.  I don’t need to sell my works to share that excitement.

My comic, based in the world of the Demon Chronicles and my novella Dreaming of White Marble Tombstones, will continue to have it’s own webpage, but I will be cross-posting extras and comic related talk here.  My love for the comic genre is deep, and thanks to Humble Bundle’s generous comic offerings, I have been able to explore comics I wouldn’t have known about otherwise.  I’ll share with you what I find!

Of course I will post on my LARP business and my other hobbies as well, exploring the world of Steampunk, Second Life fashion and helping new folks learn to avoid the most common role play mistakes.  I’ll still post my short stories and poems as I create them.

All in all, I think that this change will make this page busy again, and give me some ability to focus, rather than compartmentalize myself to the point of insanity.

I’m glad to have you along for the ride!

Leave a Reply

